(image: Hasegawa Tohaku - Shōrin-Zu Byōbu)

Disconcerted Sounds Last.fm Group - here. A curiosity if nothing more...

Wednesday, 21 January 2009

Mississippi Records Compilations

2009 has only just started, everyone knows the current situation with the banks and the job losses but that doesn't seem to be putting many people off spending huge amounts on music. Maybe I've been a little naive about the collectability of Mississippi Records releases, however I think most will agree that this is a surprise (especially when the tapes apparently cost just $3 each from the shop).

Thankfully Jefre Cantu-Ledesma over at the Root Blog has uploaded five of the tapes for us that don't have a spare couple of hundred dollars. I'd highly recommend checking out the soul tapes, 'We're gonna make it' (parts 1 & 2), if not all of the compilations.

1. House of Broken Hearts, Part 1
2. House of Broken Hearts, Part 2
3. We’re Gonna Make It, Part 1
4. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven, But Nobody Wants To Die, Part 1
5. We're Gonna Make It, Part 2
6. Death Might Be Your Santa Claus
7. Trust Your Child
8. Wrong Time to be Right

These are only available from the Mississippi Records store in Portland, Oregon (USA) so expect prices to be high if you find them for sale on the net.
Many thanks to Jefre.

No comments: